Little Rock (Arkansas)

Here is general information about Little Rock in Arkansas

Little Rock statistic

Coordinates 34°44′10″N 92°19′52″W
Country United States
State Arkansas
County Pulaski
Township Big Rock
Founded June 1, 1821
Incorporated (town) November 7, 1831
Incorporated (city) November 2, 1835
Named for French: La Petite Roche (The "Little Rock")
Elevation 335 ft (102 m)
Demonym(s) Little Rocker
Time zone UTC−06:00 (CST)
ZIP code(s) 72201-72207, 72209-72212, 72214-72217, 72219, 72221-72223, 72225, 72227, 72231, 72255, 72260, 72295
Area code(s) 501
FIPS code 05-41000
GNIS feature ID 83350
Major airport Clinton National Airport/Adams Field (LIT)
Interstate Highways I-30, I-40, I-430, I-440, I-530, I-630
Other major highways US 65, US 67, US 70, US 167, AR 107
Government (Type) Council-manager
Government (Mayor) Frank Scott Jr. (D)
Government (Council) Little Rock Board of Directors
Government (State capital city) 123.00 sq mi (318.58 km2)
Government (Land) 120.05 sq mi (310.92 km2)
Government (Water) 2.96 sq mi (7.66 km2)
Government (Metro) 4,090.34 sq mi (10,593.94 km2)
Area (State capital city) 123.00 sq mi (318.58 km2)
Area (Land) 120.05 sq mi (310.92 km2)
Area (Water) 2.96 sq mi (7.66 km2)
Area (Metro) 4,090.34 sq mi (10,593.94 km2)
Population (2020) (State capital city) 202,591
Population (2020) (Rank) US: 126th
Population (2020) (Density) 1,687.60/sq mi (651.58/km2)
Population (2020) (Urban) 431,388 (US: 89th)
Population (2020) (Metro) 738,344 (US: 80th)

Time difference between Little Rock and other cities

Other cities info:

Little Rock is the capital and most populous city of the U.S. state of Arkansas. The city's population was 202,591 in 2020 according to the United States Census Bureau. As the county seat of Pulaski County, the city was incorporated on November 7, 1831, on the south bank of the Arkansas River close to the state's geographic center. The city derived its name from a rock formation along the river, named the "Little Rock" (French: La Petite Roche) by the French explorer Jean-Baptiste Bénard de la Harpe in 1722. The capital of the Arkansas Territory was moved to Little Rock from Arkansas Post in 1821. The six-county Little Rock–North Little Rock–Conway, AR Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) is ranked 78th in terms of population in the United States with 738,344 residents according to the 2017 estimate by the United States Census Bureau.

Little Rock photos